Stories of the Bible – Ethan the Ezrahite

My Nana recommended to me a very obscure Bible character, one that I don’t think I’ve ever heard of. We don’t know much about Ethan the Ezrahite; just that he was a wise Levite during the time of Solomon who wrote Psalm 89. It’s a beautiful passage, and I encourage you to read it! One thing I find interesting about Ethan is that in the Bible he is written about as if he were famous for his wisdom at the time.

For he was wiser than all men; than Ethan the Ezrahite, and Heman, and Chalcol, and Darda, the sons of Mahol: -1 Kings 4:31a, KJV

I love to speculate about people like this, woven into other Bible passages but not having one about them. What did this Ethan the Ezrahite accomplish? What happened in his lifetime that inspired him to write that Psalm? Did he get to talk with David and Solomon, being one of the wisest people of the time? An Ethan is mentioned in this verse, being appointed as a singer and musician by King David, that may be the same Ethan:

So the singers, Heman, Asaph, and Ethan, were appointed to sound with cymbals of brass; -1 Chronicles 15:19, KJV

I love thinking about the backstory of people like this. Have you found any more obscure Bible characters? Comment below! I may write about them next week.

[[Maschil of Ethan the Ezrahite.]] I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations. -Psalm 89:1, KJV

Thanks for reading! Have you ever heard of Ethan the Ezrahite? Comment below! God bless y’all, BBG

6 Comments Add yours

  1. He’s a new one to me. I’m working on a post about Job, his useless friends, dinosaurs & dragons. I’m all about thinking outside the box & love minor Bible characters. Great post Miss Shae 😊👍🏻

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Job is always a good one! Looking forward to reading it, Stephen ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. T. R. Noble says:

    Maybe Ethan was gifted with wisdom and creativity. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bet he was! Good thought.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When I was younger, I used to HATE reading the genealogies in the Bible. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve actually found that there are some hidden gems there. For example, when you read through the ones leading up to Noah, they all say that so-and-so was such-and-such an age when he begat so-and-so. But with Noah, it’s different. It appears that he was 500 years old when he begat three sons. I don’t see how it could mean anything else besides that he and Mrs. Noah had triplets. Check it out, and let me know if that’s how it reads to you, too. 🙂 (I even read it in French and Spanish.) Genesis 5:32

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hm, that sounds interesting! Thanks for sharing, Ruth!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts