Culottes… So Beautiful and… Flattering…

If you have read my previous post, you know that I went to church camp last week and I had a total blast! There was one downside I didn’t mention, though: the dreaded dress code. While packing, I was kind of grumbling about how this camp always causes me to buy clothes I wouldn’t wear anywhere else, aka culottes. Ah, culottes. If you are in blissful ignorance of what they are, just look at the featured image and keep in mind that those are a not-too-bad version of culottes (they can be a lot worse!).

I had brought there pairs of culottes to camp this year, hoping they would be considered “legal.” Sadly, only one pair was readily acceptable at the camp (sigh). When I tried wearing the others, my counselor told me she didn’t think they would be acceptable, so she took me to the culotte police and indeed they were illegal ๐Ÿšซ. The culotte lady actually had tote bins full of (I must admit exceptionally unatractive) culottes for just this occasion! She gave me a pair with a granny’s nightgown pattern and a lovely flared waistband. I wore them. For a little while, I threw myself a pity party about how ugly they were. Then I got to thinking, Hey, everyone else is in the same boat. And these people took the time to make these clothes and gave them to me for free! Even if I didn’t agree with the dress code, it is admirable that they put so much effort into ensuring all these girls stay modest. I am totally for modesty, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t believe the only way to be modest is to wear culottes. The moral of the story is, we teens a lot of times just think these adults are “so stupid” and pointlessly strict. Even if we disagree with them, they are still in authority and we should listen to what they say. God put them above us for a reason; maybe we need to just change our attitudes, or maybe it’s something bigger. This is hard for me too, but maybe we should keep our mouths shut, and our hearts and minds open. You’ve heard this before, right? Could be because it’s true.

Thanks for reading! Please comment and tell me if you ever had a similar dress code experience. God bless, BibleBloggerGirl

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Claire Rachel says:

    Wow, how true!! It is really hard when everyone has different specific standards for modesty; how true that we must be respectful when we don’t agree!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! It’s good to know someone understands ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      1. Claire Rachel says:

        Oh, yes! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. T. R. Noble says:

    It is awesome you looked at the positive in the situation. Even though I’m an adult, I struggled reading the dress code. I do agree with you, it’s awesome they want modesty, and it’s great they are prepared to help those who aren’t fully “prepared”. Aside from physical appearances, and I’m sure they did this too, I think there is a greater need and calling to simply teach about our minds, our eyes, and our heart. Everything on the outside, is just an outside appearance, but how we internalize that appearance is important. How do we want to present ourselves? Modesty does put focus, and a reminder, to concentrate on the inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these pants! They are a comfortable alternative to skirts. I know how it feels to feel kind of left out because of our clothing style. I’m not allowed to wear jeans or leggings by them self. If I wear leggings I need to wear a dress or a skirt that is covering my thighs. Beauty is not about how we look on the outside, it’s about the inside. Keep writing these inspiring posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you again! Culottes are comfy if nothing else… And yes, I have a similar rule with leggings.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do you want to be friends?

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

