Church Camp

Last week, I went to church camp! I always have a blast, and this year was no different. From capture the flag to the snack shack to chapel, they always keep the campers busy. During orientation, they assigned everyone a team: for girls, the teams were yellow, purple, orange and pink; the guys’ colors were red, blue, gray, and green. I was assigned Team Yellow, and we played games against the other teams all week. My favorite game was the group obstacle course, where two teams would go at a time while the other two shot water and threw water balloons at the runners, who could only go one at a time. We also had a daily cabin check when the counselors would go to each cabin/room and write notes on how clean it was. There were always hilarious description of the bad ones, and complimentary descriptions of the good ones. The highest I ever got was second place, and that may have been because some girls in my room left a bribe consisting of candy 😉. Other activities included swim time, craft, Bible bowl, talent show, Olympics, scripture memory, fishing, and some of the most important: showers and meals 😄.

The best parts of every day were the services. We had devotions/chapel at 7:30 a.m., morning service at 11:00 a.m., evening service at 7:00 p.m., and group devotions at 9:15 p.m. The service that touched my heart the most was Tuesday night, on purity. The preacher talked about how it is your job to keep yourself pure, and that we should keep ourselves pure for Jesus because He bought us and we shouldn’t deface His property. He also talked about how to stay pure: by praising God all the time, patience, prayer, and purifying your thoughts. Now, the preacher didn’t emphasize purity in the way you may be thinking (there were eight-year-old campers he was preaching to), but more about what you watch, listen to, read, say, think, and do. Later, I asked for a decision card and filled it out with my counselor. My awesome counselor bought me a ring that says PURITY on the outside and FORGIVEN on the inside. I have worn it ever since and I plan to keep it and wear it forever, as a reminder to not give in to temptation and to stop doing, thinking, watching or reading something that I know in my heart is wrong. (The image included with this post is of me with my ring on.) Another powerful message was on witnessing. The preacher gave his testimony and then called some of his family members to tell theirs and confirm what he had said about what a difference it made when he got saved . He also said how if Jesus saved you, He should shine from the inside out and everyone should be able to tell that there is something different about you; you are in the world but not of it. If you need to know more about how Jesus can save you, please check out my post How to Become a Child of God. If you are a Christian, let His light shine through you by being a good witness and being pure!

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. -Matthew 5:8, KJV 

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven. -Matthew 5:16, KJV

Thanks for reading! Do you go to any camps like that? Did you when you were young? Please comment and tell me about it! Here are some more pics of my new ring.

 

Until next time, God bless, BibleBloggerGirl

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Keep listening to the Holy Spirit and you’ll be truly happy and blessed. Love you, my girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mom 😉

      Like

  2. This is so great ,sadly I’ve never been to a church camp and would definitely love to go for you….😄
    Have a great day….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope you get to go to a church camp sometime. 🙏💛😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If life doesn’t interfere i’ll definitely go for one before the year runs out😄

        Liked by 1 person

  3. T. R. Noble says:

    What a beautiful experience! I love the services offered, and I’m so happy for you! The ring is beautiful too : ). Sometimes physical reminders are really nice to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, physical reminders are very helpful! Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

