Quiet Time

Summer for me has been BUSY. Between 4-H, church activities, practicing ballet for an audition next month, working at the local library, hanging out with my friends, doing indoor and outdoor chores, renovating rooms of our house, riding our go-kart, biking, fishing, canoeing, swimming, and many other things, I am ashamed to say that it’s hard to find time for God. In our lives, there are so many reasons to put off praying, reading the Bible, going to church, and otherwise spending time with Him. I can’t do devotions this morning, I’m running late… I can’t pray tonight, I’m too tired… I can’t go to church tomorrow, I’ll have to go grocery shopping.  (I am guilty of things like this too πŸ˜‰!) We need to find some time during our hectic days to relax, spend some time meditating on the Bible, talking out our problems to God, or simply playing some good Christian music. Even if it’s just 5 or 10 minutes, you will be surprised by how much better you feel. I can tell on days when I haven’t had time (it really should be haven’t made time) to spend with the Lord; I don’t watch what I say and end up hurting someone’s feelings by saying something I shouldn’t have. (Learn more about this bad habit of mine here.) On days when I have reached out to Him, though, I can tell there is the still, small voice helping me to say the right thing. It’s a wonderful feeling! God loves you, and wants you to spend time with Him, and to open up to Him as a friend. He’s like that best friend that you can call 24/7, 365 and they always answer. The choice is yours: will you make time for Him?

Draw nigh to God and He will draw nigh to you. -James 4:8, KJV

But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly. -Matthew 6:6, KJV

Thanks for reading, everyone! Please comment and tell me about your quiet time: what you do during it and how you create time for it. I really love hearing from you guys! It’s very encouraging. God bless, BibleBloggerGirl

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Dave and Sharon says:

    Love you BIBLEBLOGGERGIRL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much πŸ’›

      Like

  2. Riya says:

    Hi I really liked this post and the whole aim of this blog. Being a Christian myself, I’m guilty of saying those as well. But making time for God is very important. I’ll be waiting to read more from you!

    Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! It means a lot to me πŸ’›πŸ™πŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Riya says:

        How old are you btw?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am 13 years old! You?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Riya says:

        Wow. Great. I’m 15 and I’m from Mumbai,India. Wby?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m from Illinois, USA.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Riya says:

        That’s so cool!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Ty! it’s awesome that you’re from India. I would love to visit there!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Riya says:

        Do check out my blog if you haven’t already! It was nice meeting you πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      8. You too! I certainly will.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. T. R. Noble says:

    Some of the most intimate moments I’ve had with God in prayer, He has reached out with assurance, answers, and comfort. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I know exactly what you mean!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

