Love Your Neighbors…

Our neighbors (we’ll call them the Smiths) are great people. They have a big fishing pond, a swimming pool, and many animals including three young deer. The best part is that the Smiths let us come over whenever we want! Last night, my whole family trekked down the road (we live in the country, so houses are far apart), carrying our fishing gear to the Smiths’ house. I actually had a catfish on my line and had it up to the bank, but my line snapped! It weighed about four pounds, too. Today, if we have time, we are planning to go over there and swim for a while. My little brother always enjoys it. The sad thing is, the Smiths aren’t getting any younger. They will one day move to a place more manageable and better suited to just two people. So while they are near, we’ll love them and enjoy what they offer us! They are such generous people. They also take care of our animals whenever we are away and help us clear the snow from our driveway in the winter.

Thou shalt love the neighbour as thyself. -Galatians 5:14b

Think of someone in your life like the Smiths. Have you thanked them recently for all they do for you? I encourage you to do so; they deserve thanks!  Another thing to ponder is if you are “the Smiths” to anyone. Something I pray for every day is that God would use me to have all my actions flow outward to other people, not inward to greedy old me. So think about it: is there anyone who is your Smiths? Is there anyone you can minister to, as Jesus did?
Thanks so much for reading this post! I hope you took something away from it you can use in your life. Please comment and tell me about your “Smiths,” or how you are the Smiths to anyone in your life. God bless, BibleBloggerGirl

5 Comments Add yours

  1. myliron says:

    Love your post!
    I think it is very much the scripture of “they will know we are His by our love for one another, “even the love we display to our enemies or just people we don’t completely get along with.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Yes, that is a great scripture to go with it! šŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  2. T. R. Noble says:

    This was lovely to read šŸ™‚ . Such beautiful memories you are making. So sorry about the fish though! I had some friends I made, when I lived in Little Rock, AR. Always grateful for their friendship, and I definitely let them know. Cause happiness and gratefulness should always be shared, and acknowledged. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! That’s what I was getting at with that post šŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. T. R. Noble says:

        You did splendid!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

